Join the National Chimney Sweep Guild

National Chimney Sweep Guild

This content has expired.

About NCSG

March 2002 Minutes

Since the official minutes of the board meetings often don't give a decent picture of what actually transpired, here are the minutes with a bit of the discussion and some commentary included ( in italics ) to help round out your view. It still won't give you the full scoop, but hopefully it will help. If you have questions, please don't hesitate to call either your regional or one of the at-large directors. Better yet, come on down to the meetings. All board meetings are open to all members and you are cordially invited to attend to watch, listen, and offer your opinion in person. We'd love to see you there.

These minutes in regular typeface are a draft copy of the minutes of the NCSG but the NCSG Board of Directors has not yet approved this copy.


National Chimney Sweep Guild
Board of Directors Meeting
March 3, 2002
Indianapolis, Indiana

President Isenhour called the meeting of the National Chimney Sweep Guild Board of Directors to order at 8:05am.

Directors Present: Ron Brigman, Michaele Dempsey, Paul Hempel, Bob Fish, Steve Pietila, John Pilger, Robert Huta, Howard Rowell, John Bordelon, Joseph Sauter, Marion Schroll, Bart Ogden and Jerry Isenhour.

Staff Present: Greg Williamson, Ashley Eldridge, Melissa Heeke, Royal Edwards and Elliott Belilos.

Guests Present: Albert Bailitz, Jim Conant, Bob Burney, Randy Brooks, Mike McFarland, Rob Thompson, Mark Kennedy, Steve Rizzo, Jack Pixley, Renee Brigman, Bo Tasso, Susanne Dombrowski, Victor Imgarten, Jim Brewer, Ryszard Uliczka, Wilhelm Syrnicki, Adam Gramczewski, Frank Dombrowski.

President Isenhour presented plaques to Jim Conant and Jack Pixley in appreciation for their work on the board.

A motion was made by Mrs. Dempsey and seconded by Mr. Huta to accept the minutes of the February 26, 2002 NCSG Board of Directors meeting as presented. The motion was approved unanimously.

President Isenhour presented the President's report.

President Isenhour appointed the following NCSG committee chairs:

John Pilger - Budget & Finance Committee
Jerry Isenhour - Executive Committee
Ron Brigman - Regional Convention Coordination Committee
Michaele Dempsey - Membership Committee
Jack Pixley - History Committee
Bart Ogden - Nominating Committee
Steve Pietila - Bylaws Committee
Victor Imgarten - International Relations Committee
Victor Imgarten - Retail Sales Committee
Vincent & Yvette Aube - Canadian Liaison Co-Chairs
Paul Hempel - Internet Committee
A subcommittee for the NCSG Discussion List will be chaired by Marion
Bob Harper - Technical Committee
Joseph Sauter - Ethics Committee
Steve Pietila - Long Range Planning Committee
Steve Pietila - Staff Liaison to NCSG Board
Jim Brewer - Technical Compliance Committee
Robert Huta - Trade Show Committee
Bob Burney - Convention Committee
Bart Ogden - Convention - Board Liaison
Hans Marsen - Official NCSG Photographer

The Business Education Committee has been dissolved and assigned as a staff function.

A motion was made by Mr. Fish and seconded by Mr. Pietila to approve the committee chairs as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

President Isenhour appointed the CSIA Board of Directors upon the approval of the NCSG Board as follows:

Steve Pietila
Bart Ogden
John Pilger
Paul Hempel
Bo Tasso
Susanne Dombrowski
Ron Brigman
Joseph Sauter
Victor Imgarten
Jim Brewer
Ben Weathersby

President Isenhour announced a search is underway to fill additional positions on the CSIA board from related industries.

A motion was made by Mr. Huta and seconded by Mr. Pilger to approve the CSIA Board as presented. Voting in favor: Mr. Brigman, Mrs. Dempsey, Mr. Hempel, Mr. Fish, Mr. Pietila, Mr. Pilger, Mr. Huta, Mr. Rowell, Mr. Bordelon, Mr. Sauter, Mr. Schroll, Mr. Ogden. Mr. Isenhour abstained

Mr. Williamson presented the Executive Director's report.

President Isenhour called for all board members to write a critique of the 2002 convention to be emailed within two weeks to Mr. Williamson. Critiques will be compiled and reviewed for improvements in the 2003 convention schedule.

Mr. Belilos presented the Legal report.

Mr Pilger presented the Treasurer's report.

A motion was made by Mr. Bordelon and seconded by Mrs. Dempsey to approve the Treasurer's report as presented. The motion passed unanimously.

Mr. Pixley presented the History Committee report. A decal is to be designed for the friendship award.

Mr. Ogden presented the Nomination Committee report. Three At-Large Director seats will be up for election in January 2003.

Mr. Hempel presented the Internet Committee report. National Chimney Sweep Guild members will be automatically added to the discussion group. Members must inform committee to be taken off of list as opposed to current system of asking to be put on list.

Mr. Huta presented the Trade Show Committee report.

New Business

The NCSG Board went into Executive Session at 8:48am.

The NCSG Board came out of Executive Session at 9:34am.

A motion was made by Mr. Pietila and seconded by Mr. Fish to send four individuals at the discretion of the International Relations Committee and the National Chimney Sweep Guild president to the ESCHFOE Conference in England. The motion passed unanimously.

President Isenhour asked Mrs. Dempsey, as the Membership Committee Chair, to contact the "Town Cryer" regarding statements posted during the convention.

Rob Thompson of Turlock Chimney Sweeps thanked National Chimney Sweep Guild and Chimney Safety Institute of America directors for dedication and service.

The meeting was recessed at 9:40 am.

The meeting was reconvened at 11:42am.

Mr. Sauter made a motion to adjourn, which was seconded by Mr. Pilger. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 12:52 pm.

These minutes are a draft version only and have not yet been approved by the NCSG Board of Directors.

A. Bart Ogden, Secretary, NCSG